Delaware Armed & Unarmed Security Guard Training & License Requirements

To become an unarmed security guard in Delaware, the Delaware Department of Public Safety states that an unarmed security guard requires a license which requires certified training. Once all requirements are met (more are below) the license is administered by the Delaware Department of Public Safety and is valid for 2 years. A yearly course must be completed to keep it current.

There are a number of requirements that we have outlined below to give you as much information about becoming an Armed or Unarmed Security Guard in Delaware.

 

Requirements of Delaware Security Guards / Security Officers:

To become an unarmed Delaware security guard or officer the following requirements must be met:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Be hired by a licensed company
  • Complete background check and finger prints
  • Be a United States citizen or registered resident alien
  • Have no felony convictions or any crime involving the illegal use of weapons
  • Complete a 16 hour certified training course by the state of Delaware before applying for license – the Form needs to be signed by instructor as proof

The basic curriculum may include the following:

  1. Role of Private Security
  2. Legal Aspects
  3. Patrol and Observation
  4. Incident Response
  5. Security Resources: Surveillance operation and documentation
  6. Customer Service Issues: Working with and addressing the public
  7. First Aid Overview

Please note that there is an application fee of $69 and there is a $20 identification card fee required once your application is approved. Once completing the certified course, you can apply for your license as unarmed security guard by calling (302) 672-5304 to set up an appointment. For more information, please visit the Delaware State Police Department.

Basic Requirements of Armed Security Guards / Security Officers in Delaware:

  • Be at least 21 years old
  • Be hired by a licensed company
  • Complete background check and finger prints
  • Be a United States citizen or registered resident alien
  • Have no felony convictions or any crime involving the illegal use of weapons
  • Complete a 16 hour certified training course by the state of Delaware before applying for license – the Form needs to be signed by instructor as proof

There are some additional requirements to become an armed security guard in Delaware which involve completing the following:

  • Three hour course (firearms)
  • Shooting range (must discharge gun at least three times a year)
  • Submit new finger print cards
  • Pay for new registration card

Once completing the certified course, you can apply for your license as unarmed security guard by calling (302) 672-5304 to set up an appointment. For more information, please visit the Delaware State Police Department and please read Chapter 285.