To become a Security Guard in Connecticut, there are a number of requirements. Your first step is to apply to become a security guard or officer at the company of your choice although, before you can actually begin to work as a security guard in Connecticut, you need to have a Security Officer Certification Identification Card.
There are a number of requirements that we have outlined below to give you as much information about becoming an Armed or Unarmed Security Guard in Connecticut.
Requirements of Connecticut Security Guards / Security Officers:
To become an unarmed Connecticut security guard or officer the following requirements must be met to get your Security Officer Identification Card:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Never have been previously convicted of a felony
- Be of good moral character
- Complete an 8-hour training course by an approved instructor
Basic Requirements of Armed Security Guards / Security Officers in Connecticut:
To become an armed security officer in Connecticut, a license certification card is required and you must be offered an armed security position with licensed security agency. It is important to note that it is actually the hiring security agency’s responsibility to submit your paperwork to the License and Firearms Unit – the license is valid for 5 years and Connecticut Department of Public Safety is responsible for issuing your license once all requirements are met.
For some further clarification about becoming an armed security guard in Connecticut these are:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Be a United States citizen or legal alien
- Have no felony convictions or any crime involving the illegal use of weapons
- Have never been disqualified from owning a firearm
- Successfully pass a criminal background check
- Submit Fingerprinting and a Passport photo
- Must not have been denied a security license before
- You may be required to pass a drugs test
- Have good moral character
- Hold a valid Connecticut driver’s license
- Firearms permit endorsement permit from Connecticut State
In order to apply you must call to have the application mailed to you because it isn’t available to download online – the number for this is: 860-685-8160.
You will be required to pay a $50 application fee and $19.25 for fingerprinting. Additionally, as stated above you must complete a firearms training approved by the Commissioner of Public Safety. There is a $62 application fee that must be included when you request your firearms permit and for more information call 860-685-8160.