Arkansas Armed & Unarmed Security Guard Training & License Requirements

In Arkansas, no license is required for unarmed security guards. According to the Arkansas state police department, in order to become a security guard in Arkansas you need to apply for a security position with a security company and they will look after the training and if any, licensing with the state of Arkansas. However, you still need to meet other basic requirements which we have outlined below.

There are further requirements to become an Armed Security Guard in Arkansas which we have outlined further below.

 

Requirements of Arkansas Security Guards / Security Officers:

  • Be at least 18 year old
  • Be an United States citizen or registered resident alien
  • Hold a high school diploma or equivalent qualification
  • Have no felony convictions or crime involving illegal use of weapons
  • Have not committed any acts of fraud
  • Take a drugs test (these may be ongoing)
  • Have a good moral character

In addition to this, you should also:

  • Hold a driver’s license
  • Have good physical conditioning
  • Have strong communication skills
  • Have taken basic training for security officers in Arkansas
  • Be able to stand for long periods of time

Basic Requirements of Armed Security Guards / Security Officers in Arkansas:

In the state of Arkansas, the hiring company is responsible for firearms training and they also must have a licensed training manager to conduct the training. Additionally, potential applicants must also meet the following requirements and qualifications:

  • Be at least 21 years old
  • Be a United States citizen or registered resident alien
  • Hold a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Have good moral character
  • Have no felony convictions or any crime involving the illegal use of weapons
  • Have not committed any acts of fraud
  • Take a drugs test (these may be ongoing)
  • Hold a State Driver’s License
  • Have good physical conditioning
  • Successfully completed unarmed security guard training (details above)
  • Have completed all requirements on application file (here)

Firearms Training Requirements for Armed/Commissioned Officers in Arkansas:

  • Legal Limitations – 1 hour Training
  • Weapons Safety – 1 hour Training
  • Marksmanship – 1 hour Training
  • Firing Range – 1 hour Training
  • Safety Rules

Armed Security / Commissioned Officer Fees:

  • Application: $40
  • Background check: $41.25

For more information visit the Arkansas State Police Regulatory Service Section.